ASPA HR 2022 Award Recipients

Congratulations to the chapter award recipients for this year:

  • Julian F. Hirst Award for Distinguished Service
    Mechelle Smith, Director, Norfolk Criminal Justice Services
  • George Robert House, Jr. Award for Outstanding Service
    Jimmy McNamara, Director, Chesapeake Planning Department
  • Dr. Wolfgang Pindur Award for Distinguished Service in Academia and Practice
    Gary Roberts, Regent University
  • John Dunning Award
    David Chapman, HR ASPA webmaster, Master Lecturer Emeritus, Old Dominion University
  • Hampton Roads ASPA Chapter Academic Scholarship for Studies in Public Administration
    Norah Alshayhan, Ph.D. student, Public Administration and Policy, Old Dominion University

We celebrated the chapter award recipients and welcomed the incoming HR ASPA council at the Annual Awards event on Thursday, May 19, 2022 from noon-12:30 pm, via Zoom.

Annual Research Symposium

The Hampton Roads Chapter of ASPA Annual Research Symposium on Examining Public Service in the Wake of COVID-19: Challenges, Successes, and Future Implications.

The Symposium will be on March 24, 2022, from 9.45 am to 1.15pm EST, via Zoom.

Symposium program (PDF).

We thank the organizing committee – Dr. Marina Saitgalina, Dr. Stephen King, Caitline Stein, and Taiwo Lasisi – for their hard work.

All are welcome to attend the Symposium, so please invite your colleagues and students.

Awards, Scholarship, and Nominations

Applications for the annual awards and scholarship are now being accepted. Please see the Awards tab for more information. All applications are due via e-mail by April 11 at 11:00 PM to the Chapter President (Wie Yusuf, Please include HR ASPA scholarship/award in the e-mail subject.
Winners will be recognized at the May meeting.

We are also seeking nominations for our chapter leadership for the next year starting July 1, 2022. Dr. Marina Saitgalina will assume leadership of the chapter in the role of President. Several Executive Council members will also continue the 2nd year of their term (Jerry Hoddinott, Gail Nicula, Gary Roberts, Caitlin Stein). We thank Vincent Afedi, Elijah Agyapong, Celeste Green and Stephen King for their service on the Executive Council (terms expiring June 2022). We also thank Tihara Richardson for serving as student representative.

We are looking for those interested in serving in the chapter’s leadership positions. These are great opportunities to become more engaged with the chapter!
Please consider nomination yourself or others for the following positions:

  • President Elect (2022-2023)
    • This person will become President in 2023-2024
  • Executive Council (2022-2024)
    • Four vacancies
  • Student Representative (2022-2023)

Note: Chapter members are required to be active members of ASPA during the year(s) of service in a leadership position.

Further information on the specific roles for the upcoming year may be found by reviewing our Chapter Constitution, or by contacting the Wie Yusuf (

Nominations should be submitted via this Google Form by 11pm (Eastern) on April 11, 2022. Self-nominations are encouraged. Anyone nominated will be contacted to ensure they are willing to run.

Sustainability Webinar

The webinar was held on January 20, 2022, from 12 noon – 1.00 pm. The session focused on sustainability issues relevant to communities in Hampton Roads and beyond.

The panelists:

  • Karen Forget, Executive Director, Lynnhaven River Now
  • Christy Everett, Executive Director, Chesapeake Bay Foundation, Hampton Roads
  • Katie Cullipher, Principal Environmental Education Planner, Hampton Roads Planning District; Team Lead,
  • Freddy Coronado, Residential Zero Waste Specialist, San Francisco Department of the Environment

Happy New Year (2022)!

Happy New Year to all Hampton Roads ASPA members.

A few exciting announcements and calls for participation.

(1)   We invite you to submit proposals for the Annual Research Symposium. The Symposium will be held virtually on Thursday, March 24th from 9.45 am to 1.15 pm. This year’s theme is “Examining Public Service in the Wake of COVID-19: Challenges, Successes, and Future Implications.” The symposium explores how public, private, and non-profit agencies addressed a myriad of challenges during the COVID-19 pandemic, including the evolving needs and expectations of communities, agencies, personnel, and programs. Please consider submitting proposals for Panel Presentations and Roundtable Discussion. Submissions are due January 24th. See the call for proposals (PDF).

(2)    Plan to join us for our next webinar focused on Sustainability on January 20 from 12-1.00 pm. More information will be shared soon via e-mail and on the HR ASPA website.   

(3)    For the April 2022 HR ASPA event, we would like to focus on issues or topics of interest to student members of the chapter or public service students in general. We want this event to be student-focused and useful to students. Please use this form to share ideas for the event:

(4)    Save the Date for the annual Awards Ceremony on May 19, 2022. Calls for nominations will be shared soon. Remember to check the HR ASPA website for updates ( 

Did you miss the Fall 2021 webinars? Check out the Hampton Roads ASPA webinar playlist on YouTube here:     

The Virtual Workplace: Implications for Leadership and Human Resource Management

This event was held on Thursday, November 18, 2021 from Noon-1 pm.

The COVID-19 pandemic has presented public administrators with unprecedented stress and disruption in service provision and foundational human resource management practices such as staffing and job design. Concurrently the challenges gave impetus to an accelerated utilization of the virtual workplace with overall positive results from both an efficiency and effectiveness standpoint and more favorable employee attitudes and behaviors. This webinar featured four experienced local government administrators and academics reflecting on the effectiveness of the virtual workplace in addressing the key service delivery and the associated HR management challenges.

Recording (video) of the webinar.


  • Ms. Marva Smith, Human Resource Director, City of Norfolk
  • Ms. Kim Harrison, Senior Human Resource Generalist, City of Chesapeake
  • Julianne Mahler, Professor Emerita of Government and Politics, Schar School of Policy and Government, George Mason University
  • Myungjung “MJ” Kwon, Professor and Public Administration Program Coordinator, California State University Fullerton